Charlotte, NC



The Golfweek Amateur Tour welcomes the our new partner, DOT PUTTER as the official putter of the Golfweek Amateur Tour!


Updated: June. 30, 2016


As a Golfweek Amateur Tour Member, you will receive membership into a -USGA compliant club through and issued an official USGA index.

Within 30 days of joining the tour and filling out the 2016 registration, each member will receive an email from USHandicap with instructions on how to sign into your account. You will not be able to access your Silver membership until you receive the confirmation email. Nothing will be mailed, everything will be done via email address.

See FAQ's here for more information.


Join The Golfweek Amateur Tour and get a free subscription to GOLFWEEK Magazine!

Every member of the Golfweek Amateur Tour receives a free one year subscription to GOLFWEEK magazine. To start your subscription, you must fill out the tour application. Click here to join the Tour. Please allow 4-6 weeks for processing.

The subscription is FREE! Golfweek does NOT send out bills to our members.

To check on the status of your subscription, please click here.

Tour Sponsors:

The Golfweek Amateur Tour is pleased to announce that our website is now Powered by Peak 10!






The 2016 Season came to a close on Sunday the 13th of November with the conclusion of the Golf Week Amateur Golf Tour National Championship in Hilton Head, SC.  The Charlotte tour was represented by over 50 local members and did they make our tour proud with strong performances across the board in every flight.  With that type of play, the Charlotte tour took home the TEAM trophy for the 3rd straight year.  Charlotte’s team total of 2492 was 43 better than Arkansas who finished in 2nd. Here are the Highlights.

Individual Competition:

Champ Flight:

1st Place:             Jay Barnes

2nd Place:             Joe Jaspers

8th Place:              Mike Gentry

A Flight:

3rd Place:            John Ervin

T-5th Place:          Tom Chambers

B Flight:

10th Place:            Mike Kim

C Flight:

12th Place:            Mark Sikes

D Flight:

1st Place:             Michael Martin

Edwin Watts Two Man Challenge:

Champ Flight :

1st Place: David Schmidt and Jay Barnes  (452)

2nd Place: Joe Jaspers and Jim Aughtry (456)

A Flight:

1st Place: Tom Chambers and Randy Hodges (479):

2nd Place: John Ervin and Jason Breedlove (482)

4th Place: John Ervin and Joe Zabrecky (484)

C Flight:

1st Place: Mark Sikes and Juan Restrepo

2016 National Team Cup:

In the team competition, the Charlotte, NC Tour won for the third straight year by posting a 2,492 total. That was good enough to hold off the Arkansas Tour by 43 shots at 2535.

Orlando, FL placed third at 2,541 while the Central Carolina Tour was just behind at 2,541.  The Michigan East Tour rounded out the top five with a 2,555 total.


Along with the individual Competition the National Championship also runs an optional skins game for each flight and again the Charlotte team did well.

The following people won skins worth $700 or more.  John Page (Friday and Saturday), Chuck Young, Ken Young, Jim Aughtry and Al Iverson.  Joe Jaspers and Charles Devenney each won $350 and James Burrell won a cool $240.  Even if you don’t play well individually there always a chance to cash in with one good swing-putt.

As many know, the National Championship took a little longer to be held due to the damage caused by Hurricane Matthew.  Being on the island during this competition opened my eyes to the damage caused by the storm.  The News reports and national accounts do not allow you to see the damage that was experienced all over the island.  The cleanup continues and Hilton Head will be back to what it was is over the coming months. 

A great deal of thanks should be conveyed to Jennifer and Dennis McCormac and their team for pulling this together amongst all the chaos.  I’d like to mention a few others that many never hear about.

Tim Newman (DC Metro) who without his efforts, the intern program would not be in existence.  The interns we’re involved with a number of tasks to make the tournament run as smooth as possible.  From checking in players to entering all 600+ scores (hole by hole) into the scoring systems. 

Susan Geller (Hilton Head, Savannah) who put in countless hours with Jennifer before during and after to ensure that all money collected was accounted and dispersed correctly for all flights.  Seeing them work on Friday night to make sure everything balanced was pretty significant task.

Lastly a big thanks need to be shared with Jamy Gillan (Michigan, East and West) for his scoring system being used behind the scenes.  As many know, Jamy is behind the Live Scoring system that we used at the Southern Regional in Kiawah and at Piper Glen earlier this year.  Jamy was also instrumental in helping Dennis in securing the courses for the National Championship when the Hurricane made changes necessary.

Season Long Champions:  

Champ Flight – Joe Jaspers

A Flight – Randy Hodges

B Flight – Terry Upright

C Flight – John Page

D Flight – Vince Johnson

Looking forward to a great 2017 season.  Please be on the lookout for the upcoming season schedule to be released soon.

Phil VanGeersdaelen




    2016 Charlotte Flight Points Champions

    Season Long Champions:  

    Champ Flight – Joe Jaspers

    A Flight – Randy Hodges

    B Flight – Terry Upright

    C Flight – John Page

    D Flight – Vince Johnson










    Where Amateurs play like Pros!

    Bookmark and Share