Ascarate Newsletter

With back to back 60 players fields for the 2024 season, we had some tight competition in all the flights! Most of us missed the rain but in the end it was great play from everyone.
The tournament featured an impressive prize pool and skins game prizes, with over $3,000 awarded to the players.
Thank you to the staff at
we appreciate you hosting our Sun City Open once again
Tournament Results

Champ Flight - Once again this flight showcased a competitive field with 6 players. At the turn one player have the lead with 3 others only 4 strokes behind. The final two holes would be what put the final touches in determining the champion. Ultimately, NEW MEMBER Derek Rangel clinched the title with a EVEN PAR (71) score, making this his first win on Tour in his first event.


A Flight - Following closely, the A Flight featured familiar faces and a compelling competition. Half the field entered the turn with two strokes between them, setting the stage for a thrilling conclusion. In the end, Drake Wehrs emerged victorious with a +5 (76) score, making BACK TO BACK VICTORIES on the season! Claiming the second spot was NEW MEMBER Rob Vickers, finishing with a +8 (79).


B Flight - As customary, the B Flight offered a relentless battle until the end. 12 players navigated through the front nine with only 4 strokes being the difference at the turn. The outcome hinged on a strong performance in the final three holes, giving Rocky Rodriguez the championship by the smallest of margians with a +12 (83) score, making this his FIRST VICTORY ON TOUR. Securing another second place was Chris Rocha, with a +13 (83), and taking the tie breaker from Amit Lopes and his +13 (83).


C Flight - The C Flight boasted an unpredictable field where any player could emerge victorious. At the turn, five players contended with 4 strokes separating them, but the entire field on their heels. The decisive factor in the victory unfolded in the final 5 holes, and once the dust settled we had our first playoff of the season. Seth Leday took the championship at +14 (85) and securing his FIRST VICTORY ON TOUR. Roy Littleton would take second place after the playoff.


D Flight - Concluding the event with the final flight, the tournament witnessed a closely contested race throughout. 7 players approached the turn with three strokes as the difference. The battle intensified as the weather got worse, and once again we almost a 4 player playoff. But in the end Thomas Christianson took the championship with a +22 (93) score, marking this another victory on tour but the first of the season. Cody Galbraith secured the second place with a +23 (94).

Congratulations to all our flight winners this weekend at the
Sun City Open. 


Side Game Winners

Champ & A Flight Skins

HB Kim - 1

Ty Taylor - 1


B Flight Skins

Stephanie Cieslik - 1


C Flight Skins

Mike Kingery - 1

Seth Leday - 1


D Flight Skins

Miguel Sama - 2

Thomas Christianson - 2

Cody Galbraith - 1

Olaf Sanchez - 1

Joe Espinoza - 1

Katy Estrada- 1

John Vasquez - 1

Super Skins Skins 

HB Kim - 1

Ty Taylor - 1

Joe Espinoza - 1

Seth Leday - 1


Par 3 Challenge 

Champ & A Flight

HB Kim & John Figueroa


B Flight

Ricardo Almeida & Gaudencio Pavia



C Flight

Jimmy Enriquez



D Flight

Thomas Christianson


Posted: 2/21/2022 10:58:58 AM