2022 Iceberg Invitational at CCA Recap

The opening event of the Arkansas Golf Week Amateur Tour was held on March 12th at the Country Club of Arkansas. The Iceberg Invitational lived up to its name with 4-5 inches of snow getting dumped in the area the night before. In anticipation of the snow, the shotgun start was moved to noon. As we looked out on the first fairway at about 9:00 am, the winter coat of 4 inches of snow and the temperatures hovering just around freezing, it appeared doubtful that the opening tournament would be player. However, we put off making the call and let Mother Nature do her work. She smiled on us, melted the snow and with a delayed shotgun start of 1 pm, 77 golfers braved the wet, but clear fairways and the chilly temperatures. 

In the Champ Flight, Chris Smith shot a higher than normal Champ flight score of 81 for a 5-shot victory over Chris Johnson and Tyler Freed (86).

The A flight saw Landon Green get his first 2022 victory with a strong 76 and a 5-shot victory over Mike Norwood (81). Finishing out the paid places in the A-flight were Logan Karsten (82) and Tour Director, Jerry Homishak (83)

The B Flight saw Buddy Taylor shoot a stout 78 to win by 3 strokes over Phillip Turner (81). 3rd place was won in a card-off by Jacob Chronister and Michael Young after both shot an 84. Rounding out the paid places was Patrick Eaton in a card-off over John Dailey. Both shot 86.

Newcomer Rodney Painter didn’t let the chilly temperatures slow him down as he shot 87 for a 2-shot victory over Harvey Harris (89). Cody Holmes came in 3rd with a 90. Phil Hemba, Vic Werner and Richard McClendon shot 92s with Phil taking 4th and Vic taking 5th in the card-off.

D Flight saw its own drama when, in an excellent display of sportsmanship, newcomer Christopher Converse voluntarily withdrew after shooting an 82 in the D Flight. With the withdrawal, a playoff between newcomer Tearris Wallace (90) and Yul Eslinger(90) was needed to crown a D flight champion. Both shot 90 and despite the darkening skies and dropping temperatures, the two headed to the first tee for a playoff. Tearris won the playoff. 3rd place was won by Bobby Williams. In a 4-way card off with scores of 95, Jay Williams took 4th over Kemper Pyle. The other two players at 95 were Richard McMahan and Fred Bean.


 Tournament Details
    Event / Course: C C of Arkansas
    Entry Fee: $103.00
    Dates & Start Times: Saturday - March 12th, 2022
  12:00 PM - Shotgun
    Points for Event: Standard Points
    Course Website: C C of Arkansas Website
    Event Payment Due By: Monday - March 7th, 2022

 Tee Box Assignments

 Practice Rounds
Friday practice/ skins game..   Start time is 12:30 PM
Cost is $35.00 to the course and $20.00 for skins.
Show up at noon and we'll pair up whoever is there. We have room for 28 players.

 Players & Tee Time \ Starting Hole

 Event Results & Cash Games

Posted: 4/3/2022 9:10:28 PM